So what is Healthy Eating?

I used to think this was healthy eating:

 

 

 

 

 

and

Yes, I know apples and broccoli are healthy, but not these alone. I used to just eat these-an apple for breakfast, broccoli for lunch and dinner. Not to mention the hundreds of calories I was burning at the gym. This belief I had that only fruits and vegetables were healthy was at the peak of my disordered eating. A couple of months into my recovery, my hair started falling out in large clumps. I have a lot of hair and it always a lot it always fell out, but never like this. At first I thought it was the medicine I was taking for my tumor. The doctors though told me that was not a side effect though. He asked me about my protein intake and I told him I ate chicken and boca burgers regularly. He recommend that I started taking a protein shake in the morning for my hair loss because that is a big sign of a protein deficiency. I could not believe I let myself get to that point.

After taking 25g  soy protein shakes every morning, my hair started to look and feel better. Now I make sure I watch my protein intake carefully. Did you know you are supposed to eat half your body weight in grams of protein a day? If you work out, you need even more!!

When I started researching becoming a vegan, I realized how important protein, whole grains, and healthy fats are for you. I started incorporating brown rice, tofu, nuts, and avocados into my diet. I started to feel so much better and had SO much more energy. I also realized that sugar was ok too. I try to stick to natural sugar, like brown rice syrup, agave, molasses, or stevia.

My Dad always says, “Everything in moderation.” Seriously, he does, and I tell him I am going to put that on his gravestone. He is so incredibly right through, and he is so good at it too. My dad runs 13 miles a day, eats healthy during the week and goes a little crazy on the weekends. He helped me so much during my recovery and really respect his way of looking at food!

So, what is healthy eating exactly? It is having everything in moderation! Whole grains, protein, fruits, veggies, healthy fats, and an occasional treat or too!

Tonight my actual dinner recipe includes:

Roasted sweet potatoes, kale, onions, and brussel sprouts! I am also going to cook up so tofu to throw in for protein of course 🙂

Have a good night!

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

